Stops & Starts / April 2017

Issue link: http://touchpointmedia.uberflip.com/i/811515

Contents of this Issue


Page 0 of 31

WHAT'S INSIDE 03 From The Executive Director 04 Coaches of the Year 10 ACHA/CCM 2016-2017 All-Americans 14 Catching Up with Joe Marsh 19 Naples 2017 28 Awards 38 Final Polls and NCAA Champions STOPS STARTS & April 2017 | Vol. XXIV, No. 4 AHCAhockey.com The Official Publication of the American Hockey Coaches Association DI MEN'S COACH | continued on page 04 Denver's Jim Montgomery is CCM/AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year CCM/AHCA MEN'S DIVISION I // COACH OF THE YEAR of the year COACHES Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on April 26 in Naples, Fla. F or his efforts in leading the University of Denver Pioneers to this year's NCAA Divi- sion I Men's Ice Hockey Championship, Jim Montgomery has been chosen winner of the 2017 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Wednesday evening, April 26, launching the American Hockey Coaches Associa- tion's annual convention in Naples, FL. Montgomery has enjoyed a banner year in 2016-17 as his Pioners compiled a 33-7-4 record en route to the NCAA title captured in Chicago. It was the eighth national title for the Pioneers. Montgomery has amassed a record of 102- 47-18 in four years at Denver. The Montréal, Québec, native has led the Pioneers to the NCAA Tournament in each of his four seasons in the Mile High City, winning the inaugural NCHC Championship in 2014, making the 'Elite Eight' in 2015 and leading Denver to its first Frozen Four berth since 2005 in 2016. He was named a finalist for the 2016 Herb Brooks Award as NCHC Coach of the Year, won by North Dakota's Brad Berry, as well as the 2016 Spencer Penrose Award as the Jim Montgomery Maura Crowell 2017

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of AHCA - Stops & Starts / April 2017